National Historic Landmark

I have added a document to a new folder called, "National Historic Landmark" in my files section lower down on this blog.         I used Live.com because of this tremendous feature.       To supplement the folder, I will also try to get a copy of the historic letter sent by Mayor Moak so everyone can read it in its entirety.       
 
I am making an appeal to as many people as possible to help in this effort and to voice their support.      Unfortunately, the Historical Commission and the Newburyport Preservation Trust have their hands full trying to promote the expansion of the Local Historic District Ordinance.         They will of course help as they can but its going to have to be citizens from every sector and from many interests to help out.     
 
I will do my part by notifiying of any new information, or need or meetings.
 
Let’s face it!      I refuse to be fatalistic against "The Curse".      I firmly believe we can beat it but its going to take everyone’s effort and a lot of hard work.     Why, the Chamber might even help.*
 
-P. Preservationist
 
*That unkind dig was warranted.     There is no evidence of any nationwide effort to promote Newburyport.    In regional tourist racks, Newburyport’s brochures are notieably missing except the Newburyport Whale Watch.   Newburyport is never mentioned in travel magazines or even historic preservation periodicals.    The only evidence is a well-stocked area at the Salisbury Rest Stop but we need more!
 
 

About P. Preservationist

Dedicated to the Enrichment & Preservation of Newburyport
This entry was posted in Preservation. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment