¯ Back in the Saddle Again ¯

I see that Julia Godfredson has been quietly returned to the Planning Board in some quiet arrangement between the Mayor and the City Council.      I wouldn’t normally single out a particular person but in this case I make an exception.       It is particularly concerning in that Ms. Godfredson who I don’t even have a passing connection with at all and have never formally met, is extremely capable and very smart.         It concerns me in that in a City that desperately needs to focus on historic preservation, there is absolutely no sign of any such concern in her past dealings.     I see her influencing the Planning Board to allow certain projects that would do harm to the Newburyport Historic District.      Fortunately, she is only one member but her potential for holding sway is considerable.

We need to not only keep an eye on certain projects but also on procedures and methodology on the Board.     That means doing a lot of preparation and research to counter those who would diminish the importance of preservation.

If my criticism is unduly placed, I eagerly hope that someone can prove me otherwise.

In the meantime, I’m thankful she wasn’t appointed to the ZBA!

-P. Preservationist

About P. Preservationist

Dedicated to the Enrichment & Preservation of Newburyport
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

